If you are new to the state of Idaho, welcome! The Idaho Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) requires registration of a vehicle in the state of Idaho within 90 days of moving to the state. You must be a resident of Idaho and the vehicle must be physically in the state in order to register it with the DMV.
Minimum Auto Insurance Required by Law in Idaho
Idaho also has minimum auto insurance requirements, which are required to operate a vehicle in the state.
These Idaho auto insurance requirements are:
- Liability Coverage for Bodily Injuries: $25,000 for each person and $50,000 for each accident.
- Liability Coverage for Property Damage: $15,000 for each accident.
If you are planning a move Idaho with your vehicle, contact an agent at The Insurance Shop USA, serving Sandpoint ID and the surrounding area, to get auto insurance coverage. Most people need more than the basic legal minimums to have adequate insurance protection. Since the law only requires minimal levels of coverage for injuries and property damage, most people increase these amounts and add comprehensive coverage for more protection for themselves and their vehicle.
Coverage for Uninsured and Under-insured Drivers
Idaho is an “at-fault” state, which means a driver of a vehicle is responsible for any damages, injuries, or deaths caused by an accident that is determined to be their fault. While there is no legal requirement to have uninsured or under-insured motorist coverage in the state of Idaho, it is still a good idea to have it. The reason is that just because someone is at fault, and therefore has the legal liability to pay for damages, this does not guarantee that they have the financial ability to do so. Winning a lawsuit may be possible, however, collecting the judgment for damages may be difficult.
Consult with your agent at The Insurance Shop USA in Sandpoint, ID to discuss these matters and get any questions answered that you may have about auto insurance in Idaho.